Troubleshooting

What are the system requirements? 

An iPhone, iPad Any iPhone or iPad running iOS 12.1+

Required for 3D and Augmented Reality:

  • iPhone 6S, 7, 7S, 7+, 8, 8+, X, XS, XS Max, XR,

  • iPad Pro and iPads since March 2017, iPad Air and iPad mini 2019.

Why should I turn iCloud Photo Sharing on? 

Timebox works best with iCloud Photo Sharing turned on. All the photos in your Photo Library will sync between your devices and Timebox will automatically organize them into daily Photo Stories. All your edits will also sync via iCloud.

Why did my 3d model appear as an orange block?

The orange block with the cloud indicates that the 3D model was not able to be dowloaded from the Apple App Store or, for user-created USDZ models, from iCloud. Be sure that your device is connected to the Internet via WiFi or cellular and try again by either exiting and reentering the room or restarting the Timebox app. If the problem persists even when you have a good Internet connection, please let us know via Send Feedback from the Timebox icon button in the app.

Why do i see a still photo rather than the video i was expecting?

There are some cases when the iOS Photo Library is unable to deliver a requested video to the Timebox app. We’ve observed one particular case which is when a video is in an iCloud Shared Album. Specifically in this case, Timebox receives a still image instead of the requested video.

Why are some of my photos gray?

A gray photo or a gray photo with an error message indicates that Timebox was not able to obtain the photo or video from either the Photo Library or, for group galleries, from iCloud. The most common cases are that your device does not have a good connection to the Internet or, for group galleries, that the user’s device that is sharing the Photo Story has not had a chance to upload the photo or video yet. Since Timebox uploads full-resolution photos, videos and Live Photos, uploading can take a while, depending upon the upload speed of the user’s Internet connection.

Why does my PDF have weird formatting?

There are some known issues with the location text and the last photo on a full page overlapping. These will be addressed in a future update.

Why did my deleted gallery not get deleted?

There currently appears to be a problem with iCloud sending Timebox notifications when a group gallery is deleted, so sometimes deleting or removing a gallery on one of your devices is not properly synced to your other devices. When this happens, you can just tap on the gallery on the other devices that still have it and manually remove it.

What’s sync? 

Sync means your Timebox stories will match across your iOS devices. At first, it may take awhile for everything to get in sync. It depends on the speed of your Internet connection and both Timebox and the Photos app need to have been launched.

Sync is also used by group galleries to make copies of shared Photo Stories available to the invited people.

What if Sync is not working?

Timebox exclusively uses iCloud to sync so if you are having problems with sync, please check the following in the iOS Settings app on your devices:

  1. In the Apple ID, iCloud section, all of your own iOS devices need to be logged in to the same iCloud / Apple ID account (people you share with can have their own accounts),

  2. In the iCloud section within the Apple ID, iCloud section, iCloud Drive needs be enabled on all your devices.

  3. Also in the iCloud section, scroll down to the Timebox app and it needs to be enabled on all your devices.

If you encounter any problems, please check these in the iOS Settings app on all of your devices.

If your Timebox on your iPhone doesn’t match the Timebox on your iPad it may be because they are still syncing. Please Contact Us if you have problems with this.

Why does a gallery that I remove on one of my devices still show up on other devices?

If you are not the owner of a gallery (i.e., you were invited to the gallery) and you remove it from one of your devices, the removal may not sync to your other device(s). If this occurs, you can simply remove the gallery manually from the other device(s) using the Paintbrush button.


How do notifications work?

Timebox will send you notifications for Photo Stories from yesterday (new) and from today's date in previous years (old). Timebox will also send notifications for new and edited Photos Stories in your group galleries. You can easily manage your notifications including what time Timebox notifies you in the iOS Settings App.

How do I backup my Timebox? 

If you back up your device using iCloud or iTunes, your Timebox will be backed up.

Is there an easy way to send feedback, rate TIMEbox or sign up for news?

Yes, tap the Timebox icon in the upper left corner of the screen. If you send feedback, we'll get back to you as soon as we can. 

What happens to my Timebox if your company goes out of business? 

It’s yours. Everything is on your device or in your iCloud. We do not have any of your data anywhere.